Women’s 2023 campaign comes to an end at Ferrycarrig

Wexford Youths Women’s season ended in a disappointing defeat at home to Galway United at Ferrycarrig Park this evening.

The sides entered the final League game of 2023 in opposite form – the visitors flying with confidence after beating champions Peamount last week and the Youths coming into the game on the back of an away defeat in Athlone.

Wexford were without the injured Rianna Jarrett for the seventh game running so sixteen year old striker Ceola Bergin led the line.

It was a bright start from the home team, Abbie Brophy’s close range effort cleared off the line in the opening minutes. Ciara Rossiter had a close offside call go against her as well moments earlier, the full back through on goal.

But it was Galway who found the net first with their first real attack, Abbie Callanan slotting past Nicole Nix in the 11th minute.

United scored again in their very next move, Callanan again with the finish, this time a powerful right foot shot high into the net.

Wexford were shell shocked and Galway looked to put the game to bed with further chances falling to the impressive Rola Olusola and Jenna Slattery.

Olusola would not be denied a second time however and the speedy winger made it 3-0 in the 44th minute with a composed finish.

Wexford were unlucky not to get back into the game shortly after the restart, a Michaela Lawrence header coming back off the crossbar. Ellen Molloy also had a curling effort go narrowly wide.

The visitors finished the stronger however and started to find the target again, Nicole Nix doing well to save a couple of long range efforts.

The young keeper made another impressive save in the 85th minute, tipping a Slattery effort away from beneath her crossbar – the ball fell to Olusola however and she made no mistake with her finish to make it 4-0 on the night.

Wexford Youths Women FC: Nix, Russell, Sinnott (Conlon 59′), Dwyer, Rossiter, Clancy, Lawrence (Kennedy 59′), Murphy (c), Brophy (Lenihan 78′), Molloy, Bergin (Corbet 41′)

Subs Not Used: Keenan, Lawler, DeMange, Carroll, Walsh

Galway United: Ronayne, Beletic, Dossen, Erickson, Kinnevey (c), Slattery, Thompson, Griffin (Loomes 83′), Olusola, Callanan (Doolan 76′), Madden (Jacob 81′)

Subs Not Used: Berlin, Costello, McKey

Our Sponsors

Many thanks to all our club sponsors, without whom we wouldn't be able to continue our journey. See our primary sponsors below, and visit their websites by clicking on their logo. If you're interested in discussing any sponsorship opportunities within the club, get in touch, or visit the sponsor page.