Women defeated as Peamount win League title at Ferrycarrig

Wexford Youths Women fell to a 2-0 defeat at Ferrycarrig Park this afternoon, Peamount United crowned League Champions for the fourth time. An Ellen Dolan second half double decided a hard fought contest under the TG4 cameras.

The opening quarter saw few chances of note with Freya Healy’s left foot curling shot going wide for the visitors and a glancing header from Edel Kennedy missing the target for the hosts. Neither keeper was tested until the 26th minute when the impressive Jess Fitzgerald forced a good stop from Claudia Keenan.

A good through ball to Emily Corbet in the 38th minute had the striker racing in on goal but Niamh Reid Burke was quick off her line to intercept. The half ended with an Erin McLaughlin effort on goal but her right foot shot went over the bar.

On the hour mark Sadhbh Doyle was inches away from breaking the deadlock, her shot from the edge of the box missing the top corner. Ellen Molloy (pictured above) had a similar effort on goal minutes later but her curling shot drifted wide of the post.

The first goal of the game arrived in the 67th minute, Wexford failing to clear a corner and Dolan fired in from close range. Having taken the lead United looked the most likely to get the next goal, Dearbhaile Beirne testing Keenan again in the 70th minute but the young keeper saved at her right hand post.

Dolan grabbed her second goal of the day with a clinical finish after a quick Peamount counter attack down the Wexford right.

Any chances of a comeback were ended shortly after with Ciara Rossiter receiving a second yellow which reduced the Youths to ten players, Peamount comfortably closing out the final few minutes.

The win secured a fourth League title for Peamount United.

Wexford remain in sixth spot with three games left to play, Shamrock Rovers next up at Ferrycarrig in seven days time.

Wexford Youths Women FC: Keenan, Russell, Dwyer, Conlon, Sinnott, Kennedy (Bergin 78′), Murphy (c) (Lawrence 78′), Brophy (Clancy 61′), Rossiter, Molloy, Corbet (Carroll 89′).

Subs Not Used: Nix, Lawler, DeMange, Walsh, Lenihan.

Peamount United: Reid Burke, O’Callaghan, Berrill, Moloney, Beirne, Duggan (c), Doyle, McLaughlin, Fitzgerald, Dolan (Brierley 92′), Healy (Watkins 81′)

Dubs Not Used: Richardson, Coombes, Gorman, McGonnell, Ceno, Thomas, Masterson

Abbie Brophy in action against Peamount

Our Sponsors

Many thanks to all our club sponsors, without whom we wouldn't be able to continue our journey. See our primary sponsors below, and visit their websites by clicking on their logo. If you're interested in discussing any sponsorship opportunities within the club, get in touch, or visit the sponsor page.