Wexford FC All over here at the RSC, thanks to our hosts this afternoon & all the best for the season ahead. FT… https://t.co/s2lVMx8Qwa

Wexford Youths Women had a comfortable win over the NIFL Women’s Premiership Champions in Bunclody today, largely thanks a very strong opening half from the home side.  

The visitors from Belfast made a decent start defensively in the opening ten minutes, but it did not take long for the opener to come.

On fifteen minutes a quality pass from Becky Cassin straight through the centre found Claire O’Riordan in space, who finished tidily for 1-0 for Wexford.  Unfortunately for the visitors that would open the floodgates, and five minutes later a good move up the left from Emma Hansberry resulted in a lovely opportunity for Jess Gleeson, who slammed it home for 2-0. Gleeson played the entire game in midfield, a possible change in approach under Laura Heffernan.

Hansberry continued to have a good game on the left wing, and on 21 minutes she made it 3-0 to Wexford, finishing from an extremely tight angle.  The only real disappointment for Wexford came on 25, a defensive mix-up between Orlaith Conlon and Sophie Lenehan resulted in an unfortunate own-goal, putting Linfield on the board at 3-1.

Wexford were not phased and continued to turn the screw on their visitors.  On the half-hour mark Jess Gleeson bagged her second, again finishing well from distance for 4-1.  Just as the half looked to be coming to a close, Wexford ran riot and two rapid-fire goals from captain Kylie Murphy and one from Aoibheann Webb suddenly increased the scoreline to 7-1, and a very harsh day out for the champions from Belfast.

A raft of substitutions at half-time made the second half a much closer affair, and Wexford would pick up just the one goal through an Aisling Frawley run up the right.  Final score in Bunclody was Wexford Youths Women 8 – 1 Linfield Ladies.

Wexford Youths Women:  Sophie Lenehan, Linda Douglas, Orlaith Conlon, Ally O’Keeffe, Jenny O’Keeffe, Jess Gleeson, Becky Cassin, Kylie Murphy, Emma Hansberry, Aoibhinn Webb, Claire O’Riordan. Subs (all appeared):  Tamara Furlong, Lauren Dwyer, Nicola Sinnott, Amy Walsh, Rachel Hutchinson, Chelsee Snell, Orla Casey

Linfield: Lauren Perry, Emma McAleese (Zoe Kilpatrick), Kelsie Burrows, Sarah Maddock, Sarah Venney, Jennifer McDade, Leonita McVarnock, Chelsea Myles, Megan Bell, Louise McFrederick, Kirsty McGuinness


League of Ireland First Division

    Pld +/- Pts
8 Cobh Ramblers 27 -17 29
9 Wexford FC 27 -36 17
10 Athlone Town 27 -65 7

Full table


Women's National League

    Pld +/- Pts
1 Wexford Youths Women 21 46 54
2 Shelbourne LFC 21 51 52
3 Peamount United 21 55 45

Full table


Find out more about our clubhouse rental packages, perfect for 21st or birthdays

Click here


Visit the sponsorship page to see the different team and club partner opportunites

Click Here


Be part of the official Supporters Club


Why not book one of our all weather pitches, available throughout the week at the best rates

Click here

Football Association of IrelandLeinster Football Associationwexford football leaguesse airtricity leaguecontinental womens national leaguewexford womens league

© 2019 Wexford FC
Website by aztecdesign.ie
Back to Top